STD Clinics in Atlanta: Public Health, Planned Parenthood and Community Options Compared
This page is general health information, not medical advice. It cannot tell you whether you have an infection. A clinician can, and the testing options on this site are a good place to start.
Atlanta has several good places to get tested for sexually transmitted infections. They are not the same. They differ in cost, how you get an appointment, which services sit under one roof and who they are built to serve.
This guide compares three kinds of STD clinic in Atlanta: the county health department, a community HIV and sexual health organization, and Planned Parenthood. It uses the clinic details on file for this site. Planned Parenthood is described here as one option among several. This page does not endorse any clinic, and no clinic is affiliated with this site.
The goal is simple. You should be able to pick the option that fits your budget, schedule and situation, then go.
The short version
- Lowest cost: AID Atlanta lists its HIV tests and its chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis screenings as free. The Fulton County Board of Health charges on a sliding scale.
- Most services in one visit: The Fulton County Board of Health's 10 Park Place Health Center lists STI screening and treatment, HIV testing, PrEP and doxy-PEP.
- Evening hours: Planned Parenthood's East Atlanta health center lists a late day on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
- Teens and young adults: The Fulton County Teen Health Clinic serves ages 12 to 21.
The table and sections below give the detail. Prices, hours and walk-in rules change, so call before you go.
Why the choice of clinic matters in Atlanta
STIs are common in metro Atlanta, and testing is how people find out and get treated. The Georgia Department of Public Health's OASIS data tool reports a 2023 chlamydia rate of 978.7 cases per 100,000 people in Fulton County. For comparison, the CDC's 2023 STI Surveillance state ranking tables list Georgia's rate at 646.4 per 100,000.
The same OASIS tool reports a 2023 primary and secondary syphilis rate of 39.2 per 100,000 in Fulton County. The CDC lists Georgia's rate at 20.0.
These numbers count reported cases. They partly reflect how much testing happens. They are not a measure of any one person's risk.
The CDC STI Treatment Guidelines (2021) describe bacterial STIs such as chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis as curable with treatment from a clinician. Trichomoniasis is also curable. HIV and herpes are not curable, but both are treatable and manageable. Many infections cause no symptoms, so testing is the only way to know. That is why having a clinic you can easily reach matters.
Comparison table: Atlanta STD clinics at a glance
| Attribute | Fulton County Board of Health (10 Park Place) | Fulton County Board of Health (Adamsville, Neighborhood Union) | AID Atlanta Wellness Center | Planned Parenthood East Atlanta |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | County health department | County health department | Community HIV and sexual health nonprofit | Nonprofit health center (Planned Parenthood Southeast, Inc.) |
| Address | 10 Park Place S.E., 5th floor, 30303 | Adamsville: 3700 MLK Jr. Drive S.W., 30331. Neighborhood Union: 186 Sunset Avenue N.W., 30314 | 1438 W Peachtree Street NW, 30309 | 440 Moreland Avenue SE, 30316 |
| Phone | (770) 520-7500 | Adamsville: (770) 520-7323. Neighborhood Union: (770) 520-7351 | (404) 870-7741 for STI testing | 404-688-9300 |
| STI testing and treatment | Yes | Yes | Free screening for chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis; free treatment for reactive screening results | Yes |
| HIV testing | Yes | Adamsville: yes. Neighborhood Union: not recorded on the HIV testing page | Yes, 4th generation blood test or rapid test | Yes |
| PrEP | Yes, plus doxy-PEP listed | Yes | Yes, through its PrEP program | Yes |
| Cost | Sliding scale for people without insurance | Sliding scale | Free | Insurance accepted; self-pay available; no sliding scale stated |
| Walk-in | Yes, last walk-in appointment at 3:00 p.m. | Not confirmed; appointments recommended | Yes, no appointment needed | Walk-ins welcome; an appointment is the surest way to be seen |
| Listed hours | Mon to Fri, 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. | Adamsville: Mon to Fri, same hours. Neighborhood Union: sources conflict, confirm by phone | Testing Mon to Fri, 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. | Mon, Wed, Fri 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Tue, Thu 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; closed weekends (April 2026 snapshot) |
Sources: Fulton County Board of Health locations, Sexual Health and HIV Testing and Prevention pages; AID Atlanta testing page; Planned Parenthood health center page (archived snapshot, April 2026). Languages spoken and interpreter services are not listed in the sources used for this page. Ask each clinic when you call.
Option 1: The public health department (Fulton County Board of Health)
Health department STD testing is often the first thing people think of, and for good reason. The Fulton County Board of Health runs sexual health services at several Atlanta locations. Its Sexual Health page says its clinics serve Fulton County residents ages 14 and up. If you live in the DeKalb portion of Atlanta, DeKalb Public Health serves that area. This page does not have verified service details for DeKalb, so check with them directly.
What it offers
The Locations page lists STI screening and treatment at 10 Park Place, Adamsville and Neighborhood Union. PrEP is offered at all three, according to the Board of Health's HIV Testing and Prevention page. 10 Park Place also lists doxy-PEP. HIV testing is listed at 10 Park Place and Adamsville, but not on the HIV testing page for Neighborhood Union.
The CDC's 2024 doxy-PEP guidance describes it as a possible option for some people at higher risk of bacterial STIs. A clinician decides whether it fits your situation.
Pros
- Testing, treatment and prevention services are in one system.
- Fees follow a sliding scale for people without insurance, per the Sexual Health page.
- 10 Park Place accepts walk-ins on weekdays, with the last walk-in appointment at 3:00 p.m.
- Several locations across the city give you more than one place to try.
Cons
- Hours are weekday daytime only.
- Walk-in access varies. The Board of Health says services may be walk-in or by appointment only, and recommends appointments.
- Neighborhood Union's hours conflict between two Board of Health pages. Call (770) 520-7351 before you go.
- Waits can be longer at busy walk-in times. Call ahead to ask.
Georgia law requires providers and labs to report certain infections to the state. Georgia DPH lists syphilis as reportable immediately and chlamydia, gonorrhea and HIV as reportable within 7 days. This is routine public health practice, and it applies at every clinic in this comparison.
Option 2: A community organization (AID Atlanta Wellness Center)
AID Atlanta began as an HIV organization, and its Wellness Center now offers STI testing as well. It is the only option here that lists its testing as free.
What it offers
AID Atlanta's testing page says free HIV tests and STI testing are offered onsite daily. Free screenings are listed for chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis, and free treatment is listed for reactive screening results. The HIV test is either a 4th generation blood test or an INSTI rapid test. AID Atlanta also runs a PrEP program. The PrEP coordinator's number is 404-870-7721. Its page says PrEP patients check in at least every 3 months for HIV and STI testing.
Pros
- Free testing and free treatment for reactive screening results.
- Walk-ins are welcome, and no appointment is needed.
- Testing runs Monday to Friday, 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., with last check-in at 5:30.
- HIV testing, STI screening and PrEP are connected in one place.
Cons
- The listed free screenings cover chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis. Ask whether the test you want is included, such as testing for other infections or specific body sites.
- Weekday hours only.
- The location is on the Midtown side of the city, which may be a longer trip depending on where you live.
Option 3: Planned Parenthood (East Atlanta Health Center)
Planned Parenthood is a national nonprofit health provider. In Atlanta, the East Atlanta Health Center on Moreland Avenue is operated by Planned Parenthood Southeast, Inc. It is one option, and this page has no relationship with it.
What it offers
Its page lists STD testing and treatment and HIV services, including HIV testing and PrEP. It states that insurance is not required. It accepts listed insurance plans, as well as cash and major credit and debit cards. The page does not state a sliding scale, so ask about costs before your visit.
Pros
- Walk-ins are welcome, and Tuesday and Thursday hours run until 6 p.m.
- Insurance is accepted, and self-pay is available if you have none.
- STD testing, HIV testing and PrEP are all listed.
- It is a good fit if you already see Planned Parenthood for other care.
Cons
- No sliding scale is stated, so cost may be higher than at the health department or AID Atlanta for someone without insurance.
- The page says an appointment is the surest way to be seen, so walk-ins may wait or be turned away on busy days.
- Closed on weekends.
- The hours here come from an archived April 2026 page. Confirm them by phone at 404-688-9300.
A note for teens and young adults
The Fulton County Teen Health Clinic at Adamsville Regional Health Center (3700 MLK Jr. Drive S.W., phone 770-520-7323) serves ages 12 to 21. Its page lists STI examinations and HIV counseling and testing. Fees are based on income and family size, and the clinic says no teen is turned away for being unable to pay.
On consent, Georgia law at O.C.G.A. § 31-17-7 lets a minor who has, or says they may have, a venereal disease consent to examination and treatment without a parent's or guardian's consent. The statute defines that term as syphilis, gonorrhea and chancroid. It also says providers may, but do not have to, tell a parent or guardian. The text this page relies on does not address HIV testing or other infections. Ask the clinic what applies to you and what it keeps private before you are seen.
Best for: matching a clinic to your situation
If cost is your main concern
Start with AID Atlanta, which lists its HIV tests, its three listed STI screenings and treatment for reactive screening results as free. The Fulton County Board of Health is the next stop, with fees on a sliding scale. Ask each clinic for the actual fee before your visit.
If you want everything in one visit
10 Park Place lists STI screening and treatment, HIV testing, PrEP and doxy-PEP in one building. AID Atlanta also covers testing and PrEP in one place. Planned Parenthood lists testing, treatment and PrEP too.
If you cannot go during the day
None of these clinics lists weekend hours. Planned Parenthood's Tuesday and Thursday hours until 6 p.m. are the latest of the four. AID Atlanta's last check-in is 5:30 p.m. Call to ask about current hours.
If you need PrEP
All three types list PrEP. The Fulton County Board of Health PrEP Clinic can be reached at 404-613-4708. AID Atlanta's PrEP coordinator is at 404-870-7721. Georgia DPH's HIV prevention page also lists the Georgia AIDS and STI InfoLine at 1-800-551-2728.
If you have insurance and want a set appointment
Planned Parenthood accepts insurance and recommends booking ahead. The health department also works with appointments, which the Board of Health recommends at most sites.
If you are under 21
The Fulton County Teen Health Clinic is built for ages 12 to 21 and bases fees on income and family size.
If you want to test without going to a clinic
Georgia DPH offers an at-home HIV self-test by online request. Its page does not state the cost or who qualifies. The CDC also links to the national Together TakeMeHome program, which offers free HIV self-tests ordered online. A home HIV test covers HIV only. It does not replace testing for other infections.
What to ask when you call
- What will I pay, and do you offer a sliding scale?
- Do you take walk-ins today, and what is the last arrival time?
- Which infections are included in the test, and at which body sites?
- What languages do you work in, and is an interpreter available?
- How and when will I get results?
- If a result is positive, what treatment and follow-up can you provide?
Timing matters for some tests. The CDC explains that each infection has a window period, which is the time after exposure when a test may not yet detect it. A clinician can tell you whether to test now, test again later, or both. For the full picture on window periods, see the CDC's STI Treatment Guidelines (2021) and its HIV testing page.
Verdict
No single Atlanta STD clinic is best for everyone. The right one depends on your budget, your schedule and what else you need.
For most people watching cost, the strongest starting points are AID Atlanta, which lists its testing as free, and the Fulton County Board of Health, which uses a sliding scale. The health department has the widest range of services and locations, including doxy-PEP at 10 Park Place. AID Atlanta combines free testing with walk-in access and a PrEP program. Planned Parenthood fits best for people with insurance or those who prefer later weekday hours, as long as they confirm cost first.
All three are reasonable choices. The best clinic is the one you can actually get to. Whichever you pick, a clinician can answer questions about your own situation, which this page cannot.
Ready to go? For a fuller list of local options, see the Atlanta clinic list. For costs and what to expect at a visit, read our guide to STD testing in Atlanta and what it costs. You can also use the CDC's GetTested locator to find free or low-cost testing near any address.
Sources
- CDC, Sexually Transmitted Infections Treatment Guidelines, 2021
- CDC, HIV Testing
- CDC, GetTested locator
- CDC, 2023 STI Surveillance Report State Ranking Tables
- Fulton County Board of Health, Sexual Health
- Fulton County Board of Health, Locations
- Fulton County Board of Health, HIV Testing and Prevention
- Fulton County Board of Health, Teen Health Clinic
- Georgia DPH, OASIS STD data table tool
- Georgia DPH, Disease Reporting (archived snapshot)
- Georgia DPH, HIV Prevention (archived snapshot)
- AID Atlanta, Testing
- AID Atlanta, PrEP
- Planned Parenthood East Atlanta Health Center (archived snapshot, April 2026)
- O.C.G.A. § 31-17-7, minor consent
- DeKalb Public Health